San Francisco Animal Care and Control Facility

Originally constructed as an electrical generating facility in 1893, this three-story, historic brick structure was repurposed to house a new, 65,000 square-foot animal care and control facility. The main entrance accentuates the volume of the original structure, revealing the triple height space. Three lobby areas also serve as canvas for art created by a local artist from the East Bay. The colorful, large-scale images energize the spaces and draw visitors into the rooms. The courtyard, one of the main design features, checks off three must-haves: a functional play and training outdoor space, more daylight, and showcases the historic shell. The modern facility boasts a state-of-the-art veterinary suite in which veterinarians can now perform two operations simultaneously. It also contains more recovery cages in the room so vets can observe the animals as they are coming out of anesthesia. A new X-ray machine allows the center to provide improved care. The project also includes an adoption center and large education spaces to serve the public, animal care staff and volunteers. The building, which survived the 1906 San Francisco earthquake and subsequent citywide fire, retains its historic brick façade. The project is designed to meet LEED Gold requirements.

To Top